The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

Christians with Chronic Illness Blog Carnival – #1

logo

Welcome to our first issue of Christians with Chronic Illness Blog Carnival. We are excited to introduce you to some wonderfully gifted writers and hope that they encourage you on this chronic illness journey. Our month carnival highlights the best articles from many blogs that we have visited, and we’ve gathered them together for your encouragement.

If you’re interested in submitting an article from your own blog the instructions are at the end. We also appreciate you sharing this post with your friends at Twitter, Facebook, social bookmarking, wherever. We are excited to reach as many people as possible with the Good News.


Lisa & Michele

Twitter This! Click Here | Share on Facebook

(scroll thru to get to the yellow blog carnival thumbnail)


Living with Chronic Illness has a post called “Surprises!”  Sometimes life hands us surprises; sometimes good, sometimes bad. Sometimes, a little bit of both. God gives us things to deal with that we don’t always want. If you need someone to relate to, something to read about to know you’re not alone, check out “Surprises” by Kerri Sweeris in her blog Living with Chronic Illness.


pray_handsAt times do you feel like God has taken you “out of the game” due to your chronic pain/illness? The blog The Fear of the Lord is The Beginning of Wisdom writes about The Power of Prayer. The reality is, God allows our suffering to put us in the position where we will be most fruitful for His kingdom. You may be on the front lines and not even know it!


Even when faced with a rare chronic disease, Kristen Reyna shares the surprise of refreshing hope in her blog CIDP and Me with her post, “Surprise!”


spring_cookies_407Have you ever been surprised by something you actually knew would happen? We are told to expect the unexpected, but what happens when the expected, unexpectedly surprises us? Read Deni Weber’s blog post at her blog Recent RamblingsSpringtime Surprises” and see how God’s promises to us for our future with Him, can be seen in the simple little snowdrop flower of spring.


For anyone who is amidst a struggle in their own life, be sure to read “Dancing With the Star” by Jennifer Whisenant on her blog Chosen. Jennifer explains what she learned about the nature of God after struggling to try to make things better on her own. Turn up your volume because the post also includes great worship music from David Crowder.


God’s surprises come in all shapes and sizes. Read “Surprise!” to find out how even uncomfortable questions about faith and healing can be turned around with simple childlike faith and the help of a cardboard cricket. Read Jennifer’s Blog Hope Harvester.


fragile1To most people, strength is beauty and weakness repulsive… But God is attracted to weakness. Read about being Fantastically Fragile at God Nuggets Blog by Cyndi.


Did you ever think it possible you would find your illness to include a well hidden gift within? Amy Kiel who has the blog Una Vita Bella found a sweet surprise or two while living with chronic pain and adapting to her new life. See what God surprised her with “In the Nook of Chronic Pain”.


beeChronic illness has brought many surprises to Michele’s life as well as to her family; but the best surprise of all has been how the Lord brought her from the depth of despair as a very bitter woman to become a joyful, more mellow, thankful, loving, faithful, wife, mother, grandmother, child of a gracious merciful God! Michele’s blog, Michele’s Morsels – Beelieve You Can is one that everyone can relate to and is encouraging, informative and quite humorous at times. She writes Surprise! Surprise! Surprise!


shovel_in_a_heap_of_dirtFaith and limitations may not seem to go hand in hand, but if you’ve ever struggled with how you can be used of God with your limitations, come read at Laura’s blog, Sojourner Soliloquy; she is someone who understands and seeks to allow God to be strong in her weaknesses. She writes about being “Buried.”


If you feel like your life is boring because of your illness, see how God surprised Debbie from Debbie’s Doodlings with a holiday on a tropical island which included my sister’s wedding in her post Rarotonga Trip.


journalIn Joy’s Journey to Wellness she shares her personal journal describing her “journey to wellness.” It’s a private journal that she has decided to share in hopes that her thoughts, struggles and accomplishments can help, inspire and give validation to the issues others face as well on their journey to wellness, peace or sound mind.


crackerjacksGod has planted surprises for us in each day. The more we expect to see them, the more we’ll find. Check out “The Cracker Jack of Pain – A Surprise in Every Body” by Lisa Burgess in her blog Lisa Notes. Many new things await us if we live with open eyes. Expect the unexpected!

Special thanks to all of our contributors for sharing their writing

gifts and also their vulnerability.


The next Christians with Chronic Illness Blog Carnival

will be May 15th, 2009. (It will always be he 15th)

Deadline for submissions: May 5, 2009 (It will always be the 5th)

Send in your submissions here.

9 Comments»

  Lori wrote @

Lisa- I wrote this is response to you on my blog, but wanted to post it here too to make sure you received it:
Hi Lisa! It was so neat to get your comment! That is awesome that you have written a book on this topic….I like the name of it. 🙂 I checked out your blog and really enjoyed it. I bookmarked it so I can go back!
Thanks so much for telling me about National Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week! I am going to go check the website out after I finish writing this!
Thanks so much for commenting, and for giving me your blog address.
P.S. No- I don’t do Twitter or Facebook….blogging is as good as it gets right now. 🙂

  TOM wrote @

DEAR KRISTEN RENYA;HELLO THIS IS THOMAS.I JUST READ YOUR BLOG ON SURPRISES.IT IS AWESOME!I CAN RELATE TOO THIS CONDITION OF POLYPERIPHAL NEUROPATHY.I HAVE IT .I T IS PART OF MY RSD/CRPSTYPE2.I WAS A POLICE OFFICER AND WAS ELECTROCUTED IN AN AMBUSH.I HAD 15 OPERATIONS IN 7 YEARS.I I DEVELOPED RSD IN THE PROCESS.MY SURGEON ADVISED ME THAT ALL MY NERVES WERE INFLAMED.I HAVE HAD SEVERE BURNING STABBING BURNING PAIN FOR 11 YEARS.I HAVE NUMBNESS AND TINGLING ALL OVER .I ALSO HAVE RSD FULL BODY.SURPRISE!I ALSO DEVELOPED INFLAMATION OF MY SPINE WITH ARTHRITIS,SURPRISE.1 SECOND CHANGED ME AND MY KID`S LIFE.AS YOU KNOW IT AFFECTS EVERY PART OF YOUR LIFE.IT WILL DEFINITELY GET A HOLD OF YOU.THE BIBLE SAYS ” HAVE NO CONFIDENCE IN THE FLESH.”I KNOW WHAT THAT MEANS NOW.I HAVE LOST ALOT OF FRIENDS …SURPRISE.UNLESS SOMEONE ACTUALLY GOES THRU THE CHRONIC PAIN WE HERE AT REST MINISTRY GO THRU IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR OTHERS TOO RELATE IT.THUS THEY GIVE UP ON YOU.YOU HAVE QUITE A TRIAL.I GUESS JUST ABOUT EVERYBODY HERE HAS THEIR OWN .WHAT I HAVE FOUND AFTER MANY HEART TOO HEARTS WITH THE LORD IT CAME TOO ME .WHEN I FINALLY ACCEPTED THE INJURY AND ALL THAT I THOUGHT I LOST.NOW I REALIZE ALL I HAVE GAINED.ALL THAT I USE TOO HOLD SO DEAR TOO ME IN 97 IS GONE .THE LORD HAS REPLACED WHAT “THE LOCUST DEVOURED”.ALTHOUGH I AM IN DAILY PAIN I WOULD`NT CHANGE A THING NOW.GOD IS IN CONTROL.HE HAS ME RIGHT WHERE HE WANTS ME.I WANT FOR NO GOOD THING.HE HAS FILLED ME WITH PEACE AND JOY.I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN WHEN YOU INDICATED THAT CLOSE PEOPLE HURT YOU.I HAVE GONE THRU THAT ALSO.THE ONES THAT ARE CLOSET TOO US SEEM TOO HURT US THE MOST.SURPRISE!.I HAVE MET ALOT OF WONDERFUL PEOPLE HERE AT REST MINISTRIES.I STUMBLED ON THIS SITE YEARS AGO WHEN I WAS SURFING FOR RSD INFO.IT HAS BEEN A GODSEND.AT ANY RATE I THOUGHT I WOULD LET YOU KNOW THEIR IS SOMEONE OUT THERE THAT SHARES YOUR PLIGHT OF NERVES WITHOUT PROTECTIVE COVERING AND BEING INFLAMED.SO IF YOU WOULD LIKE TOO WRITE FEEL FREE. MAY GOD RICHLY BLESS YOU.THOMAS

  Roby wrote @

Rihn7ha&#821a;s Te amo is great Rihanna rocks whoever cannot hear that is Clearly Musically challenged stop hating she rocks her music rocks. You go Rihanna go girl.

  Joy wrote @

Thanks so much for including one of my entries in your carnival- I appreciate it and the work you do on this site!

  Argentina wrote @

You must be careful with back pain as the consequences can be dangerous so findrxonline indicated in an article on the subject, I suffer from chronic fibromyalgia for a few years ago I had a tug on my lower back and has gotten worse over time, I have visited many doctors and to ease my pain I was prescribed narcotic opioid drug that is like vicodin, oxycontin, lortab that help curb these terrible back pain.


Leave a comment