The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

Lisa’s Bio

These bios can be copy and pasted to accompany any items written by Lisa Copen or for marketing materials.

Choose your length desired: Short | Medium | Long

Short Length

Lisa Copen is the founder of Rest Ministries, the largest Christian organization that specifically serves the chronically ill. She is an author of a variety of books on chronic illness and the faith community and a sought-after speaker that brings both encouragement and a sense of humor to those who are suffering. She resides in San Diego with her husband and 7-year-old son, and has lived with degenerative rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia since 1993.

Medium Length

Lisa Copen is the founder of Rest Ministries, the largest Christian organization that specifically serves the chronically ill. She has authored nine books, including resources for over 300 HopeKeepers groups, a small group program of Rest Ministries. Through various sources including National Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week, which she started in 2002, she seeks to encourage churches to increase an outreach to the chronically ill nearly 1 in 2 people in the U.S. Lisa’s works have been published in a variety of periodicals and books and she has been a guest of radio programs Decision Today, Family Life and Joni and Friends. She is a sought-after speaker who brings joy and humor, as well as hope, to those who are suffering or live with chronic illness. She resides in San Diego with her husband and 7-year-old son, and has lived with degenerative rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia since 1993.

Long Length

Lisa Copen is the founder of Rest Ministries, the largest Christian organization that specifically serves the chronically ill, http://www.restministries.org . She has authored nine books, including resources for over 300 HopeKeepers groups, a small group program of Rest Ministries.

Through various sources, such as the editor of HopeKeepers Magazine, founder of National Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week, and host of Hope Endures online radio program, Lisa seeks to encourage churches to increase an outreach to the chronically ill nearly 1 in 2 people in the U.S.

Lisa’s works have been published in periodicals such as Just Between Us and Pain Solutions, and books like God Allow U-Turns, But Lord I Was Happy Shallow and most recently, The Transforming Power of Story.

She is a sought-after speaker who brings joy and humor, as well as hope, to those who are suffering or live with chronic illness. She has been a guest of radio programs Decision Today, Family Life and Joni and Friends. National television appearances include Heroes Among Us and Peace in the Storm.

She enjoys following her passions which include other ventures she has followed including ScrapbookMyAdoption.com , Illness Twitters http://www.illnesstwitters.ning.com and Book Marketing Tips at youcansellmorebooks.com .

She resides in San Diego with her husband and 7-year-old son, and has lived with degenerative rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia since 1993.

2 Comments»

  stacy laurie wrote @

dear lisa, i have been following you and admire your strength and faith. to be honest, i need a friend. if you have the time look at my face book to know what my interests are. i very badly need/want to start a small group. i have fm/cfs…ddd & the list goes on. at the moment i am a child of God battlin severe depression, doctors trading me around, over medicating/undermedicating…my only joy is my faith and my son. my church has given up on me because i am not healed/ so not enough faith..but my faith and relationship w/ Jesus is FIERCE!! 🙂
anyway, just when i start to get on my feet so to speak…the insurance co. or the doctor changes my meds. and I am soooo very down as this puts me into a full flare up. Is there anyway you can give personal advise so that I can get off this marry go round? I`m tired lisa, I have begged for help…i am a good christian/not a drug seeker….Jesus knows but somewhere i am not understanding what i`m suppose to do. I am standing still…waiting, but my worlds has fallen apart. my only contact is with facebook people and my 33 yr. old son and I have to say i am sincerely afraid.
God bless you,stacy laurie

  Bmfixer wrote @

Hi there…I feel the same way…Im also on the roller coaster riding the same tracks….I live 45 mins. from my son and have no support from my fiance and her kids. I am literally dealing with a bad relationship and on top of everything else I have fibro and have been misdiagnosed for about 18yrs or so ….I believed it to be a virus like my Doctor kept telling me.
I have no support from my family at all…we are splintered and torn…..at least my relationship with my sister anyway…..my Mother and Brother listen but dont bother with me because I was always negative and let it take control of me.
Part of which I take responsibility for…Im not perfect but I didnt expect my family to take separation this far. They just dont care to be in my presence….I cant blame them….all these years of nothing but bad relationships and chronic pain with no one to talk to about it…..and being told that our relationship was a mistake that she made by staying….you see I offered for her to leave 3 different times because I knew not working and always feeling like crap and well she is trying to deal with her own problems….but even before that I could see she was lacking in feelings in general and yet I stayed.
Sorry this is so longwinded but I had to vent…so thank you!
I over the last 9 months or so I have slowly fallen into a deep pit of misery and the only thing I have to look forward to is being with my fantastic son. Our time together always goes so fast and then Im back where I was before…. alone in a house of 3 other people.
Ive had panic attacks which scared the crap out of me….I thought I was having a heart attack and all I could think about was my 14yr old boy and how this would hurt him and how I didnt want to leave him behind in this cruel world.
I dont know where to turn anymore….I would never kill myself because I have experienced the deep hurt, the unexpected guilt and raw pain from it all.

Mark


Leave a Reply

