The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

6 Reasons I Support Invisible Illness Week

rose

  1. Surprisingly, nearly 1 in 2 people in the USA have a chronic condition and most of them are invisible.
  2. There are too many people suffering silently, believing no one cares. I want them to know I do care.
  3. I will likely accidentally say the wrong thing at some point, but I still want to learn how to say what encourages someone with illness best.
  4. 70% of suicides are the results of “controllable physical pain.” We never know that we may be the last person someone looks toward for hope and a reason to live.
  5. Illness is one of the most lonely experiences a person can have. It doesn’t have to be that way.
  6. People with illness are often bombarded with advice. I want to be a safe haven for those with illness who just need someone to listen.

Add your own, edit, and tell someone!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Comments»

  Carlene Bean wrote @

These are all very true.

  Father Daniel Beegan wrote @

Lisa,

I would add:

Don’t ask me too often to do fun things, I can’t say no.

I’ve learned to pace myself when its work, but a road trip is hard to turn down, even at 58. I pay for it later and now I have to go before my doctor on Friday to see if she’ll let me drive again. I may have messed up.

Father Dan

  saintsophia wrote @

I support this too. Really good idea. I am learning just how many people suffer really horribly due to a support group I’m in.
http://pentheo.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

