The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

Why I Began Invisible Illness Week

09_logo-facebookThe last couple of weeks I’ve been juggling more stuff preparing for Invisible Illness Week whihc is Sept 14-20, 2009.

Our web site for #iiwk09 (as known in the Twitter world, you can follow me here) is at www.invisibleillness.com .

You can find articles, guest blog posts, and even a “blog tour” where I am interviewed on different web sites about Invisible Illness Week.

I began this in 2002 and the week has only grown and reached more people because of readers like you who tell their friends about it, post something at Facebook and join our “cause” group there, pass out cards to their support group, and much more.

In fact, the best way to share my heart with you about why I do what I do is to just post my interview here (see above).

National Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week is the annual outreach where Rest Ministries steps back from our every day events and and really shares with nonbelievers where we find our daily strength despite our illness and pain. [And I have to say, it annoys some people that a Christian group came up with this event!]

It’s a time we can invite people to our online seminars during our virtual conference, and give them the chance to be encouraged (and not judged… which many people are in their every day lives.) I hope you will support our efforts by heloing in any way possible. There ae lots of ways to get involved –most of them free and with just a few minutes of your time.

Thank you in advance and thanks for your prayers in pulling this off. With God’s strength (and my surrender — a big challenge) I know it will turn out wonderfully!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

