The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

2009 Sunscreen Guide

sunscreenFor most of us with illness, if our illness doesn’t make it necessary for us to stay out of the sun, our medications do! Here is a link to the 2009 Suncreen Guide .

They state, “Surprisingly, 3 of 5 brand-name sunscreens either don’t protect skin from sun damage or contain hazardous chemicals — or both. An Environmental Working Group investigation of 1,614 sunscreens rates the season’s best — and worst.”

It’s been 4 weeks ago that I went to the fair – wearing sunscreen – and my forehead is just about done peeling. I think it peeled about 3 layers and had moments of being bright red. (Not nearly as cute at 40 as it was at 16).

Here is a listing of Sun-Sensitive Drugs.  Enjoy the hot summer months left, but be careful!

2 Comments»

  Jenni Saake, author, Hannah’s Hope wrote @

Unfortunately I don’t do well with most of the chemichals in the majority of sunscreens either! My best option has been trying to stay in the shade and wearing several layers of mineral makeup (again, have to look for ones without additives and other fillers, just pure minerals) not only on my face but my neck, shoulders, arms and any other exposed body parts. Mineral makeup not only has natural sun protective properties, but is oil-absorbing and sweat resistant too, so it tends to last much longer than traditional sun screen for me. I still do my best to stick to the shade, but this way I at least have some protection from the sun I can’t avoid.

  Tidings » Blog Archive wrote @

[…] 2009 Sunscreen Guide […]


Leave a Reply

