The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

De-cluttering Can Burn Calories

A Dyson DC07 upright Cyclonic vacuum cleaner u...

Most of us see cleaning as something that needs to be done and survived, but too often we only clean the surface of things and never feel like we’ve made any progress. In my recent attempt to de-clutter and clean up the house, I started with just a corner that was stacked with magazines and I sorted: a donation pile, a recycle pile, and a pile of magazines I still wanted to browse.

Only one little corner was clean but I felt such relief! I was also relived to have gotten to the bottom of that corner and not found any lizard skeletons. More than a few had climbed through those magazines in the last few weeks.

How does all of this lead to the comment about exercise? In one of those magazines I was browsing I read that studies have shown that spending just 20 minutes doing something like dusting, vacuuming or tidying up has the same stress-reduction benefits as walking, jogging, or cycling! A bonus perk according to psychologists is that a clean, orderly space helps us feel more relaxed too.

In the past week I’ve worked my way through the living room to the kitchen and the bedroom. This week is my son’s room (ugh!) Now I wish I’d taken before and after photos, but I don’t know if I’d have had the guts to have shown you the “before” photos.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

