The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

ICRS Day 3

We woke up early to get over to the conference at the other hotel. Caught the trolley on time, but the trolley driver didn’t stop. We pulled frantically on the cord, but nothing happened. So we arrived a few minutes late, but it was fine.

We had a wonderful prayer time with women around us, music and worship, a counseling panel, and more. Lunch time arrived soon and an amazingly gifted woman, Dr. Gail Hayes , founder of the ministry Daughters of the King gave a presentation that brought both tears and goosebumps.

Mom went back to the hotel and I stayed for the afternoon workshops and panels. As it finished mom picked me up with her friend Linda. Linda was my mom’s next door neighbor forty years ago and they have kept in touch all these years. I’ve hadn’t seen her for over twenty years, but it was like a day had not even passed.

We had dinner and Linda stayed the night in the hotel and we stayed up till after twelve talking and laughing until our side ached. They went to bed and I worked till about 2 a.m. Slept better. My shoulders had been aching horribly since the pillows were too soft to hold my arms up so I stuffed them with towels and it worked great.

Will write more tomorrow. Am a day behind, it’s
midnight

and I have emails to answer and a book proposal to review for someone attending a workshop tomorrow for CLASS where I am mentoring.

PS: God answered incredibly specific and huge prayers today… will share soon!

2 Comments»

  Lon Hazelwood wrote @

Hi Lisa:
We met a decade ago when you were in Orlando for the CCPD Conference. As a Native American Indian Christian living with Post Polio and having survived Orphanges and Foster Care I have found that Art can be a powerful creative force to promote healing and well being. I live about 60 miles west of Orlando but would be honored to meet with you and your mom maybe over lunch or dinner. I appreciate all the work that you do.
I am celebrating 52 years as a Believer and Follower of Jesus the Messiah and have been in countless ministries since then. My wife Sylvia and I have been happily married for 35 years and are getting ready to be Grandparents.
I went to Art School and have been a professional artist and designer since the 60’s. In Florida I started the Alliance For Artists for those with and without Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses.
I helped start several HopeKeepers Support Groups and the Tampa Bay Polio Survivor’s Support Group.
Home phone #813-778-6537
Cell phone #813-486-4954
For Messiah and In His Service
Lon Hazelwood
6210 Upcountry Drive
Zephyrhill, FL 33542

  Judy wrote @

Thank you for taking us along with you, Lisa!
Hope you’re getting some good rest after your exhausting week.


Leave a Reply

