The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

Checking in to say thanks

Thank you dear friends and family with the outpouring of love and prayers. We are in a hotel again tonight. It was a day of ups and downs, but the last we heard our house is still standing. Praise God!

Images We ate breakfast at the hotel buffet and sat next to two families also from Poway.  One said they thought their house was okay, according to news reports. The other woman said her husband had [illegally] gone up to see about their home. And it was the only one left on the street. It was near Lake Poway (about 3 miles north of us, where the "multi-million dollar" homes are — definately not our neighborhood!) She thought the neighbor’s wood pile may have "sucked" the fire over their home along with her own plants she’s planted to try to be a fire deterrant.

We wanted to get out of the hotel and thought the air might not be so bad by the ocean so we "roughed it" and took Josh to La Jolla shores where he rode his trike and played with little parachute toys I’d got him at the dollar store. We ended up meeting a family who lived just a mile or so down the street on in our area. She said they’d evacuated, but her husband and son had stayed up all night and so far, no fires in that neighborhood. (A few years ago many homes were lost there.)

We thought that was good news and headed back to the hotel. Stopped to pick up "pain patches" for me and Tylenol cold medicine for Josh and got a call from the woman saying now her family had been evacuated. Came back to the hotel and looked up the maps online and the RED LINE of fire was 1 BLOCK from our street. But an hour after that a neighbor of ours called an said they had snuck back in [illegally] and our street was okay.

We’ve since received words that it’s okay to go back but to keep your car packed. I worked on my presentation for the conference at La Jolla park and have been sitting here doing it for the last two hours. I think it’s coming together but I am wiped out. I woke up at 3 a.m. and checked online to see if we still had a house and then Josh woke up coughing and none of us ever went back to sleep. So those 4 hours were heavenly… but not enough after being up 2 days straight.

Witch_fire_oct23So far, the plan is to check out home tomorrow, pack up boxes of books for the conference and get everything ready. My first podcast with Claudette Palatsky hasn’t happened yet, I haven’t gotten the gray colored out of my hair (ugh!); I don’t even have eye liner so I really look tired. But hey, I was supposed to have jury duty this week and had asked for an excuse for my own health, my son’s, etc. But even the courts are closed. (You have to look for the bright side, right?)

But none of that seems to much matter.

SpaceballJosh seems to think we are on some kind of weird vacation. Especially since the cat came! We’re in La Jolla and can’t go outside without white flakes of ash falling on you. But everywhere you go people are on their cell phones talking about it and the TVs keep replaying horrible images we’d rather not see over and over. Over 500,00o people have been evacuated, the most in CA history.

I sat at the beach and flipped through my Bible finding scriptures to reference for my talk, and every single one about "not worrying about what you eat or where" or "wealth is evil" or "don’t say… ‘today I am going to…’ say, ‘If the Lord wills it, today I am going to.’" Perspective is an amazing thing.

My husband is turning off his light and I can’t type coherently so I am going to stop now, but know how much we appreciate your prayers and kindness. We know how blessed we are to be able to be in a bed, to have food to eat, to have people who care about us and are checking in. Even my husband’s work sent out text messages to everyone saying they are closed for the remainder of the week.

But please continue to pray for everyone, as they are still evacuating — they even told the Marine Corp "not to come in unless you were senior personnel…." Wow! So many of you wrote to tell me of family and friends who live here of yours too. I pray they are all safe. And of course, the firefighters and even the newscasters (one who lost his own home and stood in front of it as it burned.)

And pray the winds don’t start up again. Our home is in a pocket of areas without fires, but completely surrounded. Lord willing it will all stay safe.

Love to you all,

Lisa

8 Comments»

  FernMarie wrote @

Lisa,
Know that the shareandprayer groups(from RestMin.)are praying for you as well as all effected by the fires.Side note:Having lived in Poway years ago,it’s heartbreaking to hear of such destruction.Son’s in-laws are in ElCajon,packed and ready to leave,if necessary.Stay safe Lisa,and take care of yourself.May God protect and have mercy.
hugs,
FernMarie(Fla)

  Sharon Yocum wrote @

Lisa,
I’ll so glad that you are safe.
Our whole valley is filled with smoke from the 2 fires burning in our local mountains. There have been over 160 houses burnt down in the Lake Arrowhead area and over 200 more in Running Spring/Grass Valley. All the schools are closed until further notice due to the smoke and threat of fire. The fires are kind of close. I live in Highland which is 20 mins drive for one and 1/2 for the other or about 10-12 miles. They are coming closer all the time. Where I live I am not in any danger from the fire, but my mom and dad’s houses could be. This morning the smoke is so bad that the sky is brownish yellow; you can’t even see any blue sky or the mountains and the sun is pinkish red.
Please pray for the firefighters. Our local ones were having trouble getting access to food and water yesterday as the support teams with those supplies were having problems getting to them as the roads are tiny one-lane through most of the area. My s-i-l talked with the wife of one and was told that in 14 hrs of working they hadn’t had anything to eat.
On a personal note- my asthma is really bad from the smoke. I went and saw my allergist as even with my inhaler I couldn’t breathe. He said that I wasn’t very wheezy, but I wasn’t moving any air. He gave me a breathing treatment and 2 shots of cortisone. I’m also on the prednisone pack for 6 days. I’ll probably be using the nebulizer at home for the next few days as my inhaler isn’t strong enough. So can you all remember to pray for everyone with health/breathing problems, thanks.

  Mary *Shep* wrote @

Lisa, We are praying for you across the country – as a group of believers who spend time at Rest Ministries together. We are grateful for this blog as it helps keep us in touch with how things are going for you.
Lord, I ask that you would be the Living Water to those who are being affected by this fire – I pray Lord, that through this tragedy, that You, the Living Water, will be poured out from the believers in this area who share the reason for the HOPE that remains within them – Jesus – bless and strengthen those children of yours to endure and emerge stronger on the other side of this tragic fire. Lord, bring comfort we pray and Lord, we ask for our dear friend, Lisa, Lord, please, spare their home and the homes of those around her. In your precious name we pray, Amen.
And please Lord, bless Josh in a special way during this time, help him to be well both physically and emotionally and help him to get the nutrition he needs.
Amen and amen.

  Jennie Krogulski wrote @

Hi Lisa,
I am so glad to hear from you and know that all is well. My heart has been heavy and in prayer for all of you as you go through this.
I am praying especially for grace for you physically and that this stress won’t cause you such difficult flare-ups.
Much love and gentle hugs…
Jennie


Leave a Reply

