The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

Invisible Illness Week Poll

Have you had a chance to visit our new Invisible Illness Week web
site yet? I am so glad it’s about done and hope you are able to
quickly find ways to let others know about invisible illness week. I
am leaving Friday for the International Christian Retail Show (I’m so
excited!) and will be promoting the week a great deal, especially to
Christian bookstore owners.

Next week I’ll post our Top 100 books we recommend for bookstores to
carry/choose from for people who live with chronic illness. The list
will be updated annually before the ICRS conference so if you read
something fabulous that should be on it, be sure to email me at
rest@restministries.org with the title and author and I will
definately consider it!

Anyway, as soon as I get back I will be starting a series of press
releases to go out every week or two about Invisible Illness week and
to do that we need INTERESTING story angles about why invisible
illness needs some "awareness." (Last year we were told one radio
show was (gasp!) mocking our efforts. But hey, at least we got press
coverage! And it IS an area where education is needed!

PLEEEEEASE help us all by answering just 4 quick questions like "how
do you respond when people say, ‘you look like you’re feeling so much
better?’" We’ll use some comments and statistics of answers to get
some great media stories.

Just go to:
http://invisibleillnes.poll1.sgizmo.com/

600 of you participated in a survey we did last year and I was able
to use some of the results (so far) in one press release that
resulted in 2 interviews that had nation-wide coverage. So never
think for a moment that your voice isn’t heard.

This is one of those late-night emails I’m zipping off as I try to
tie up some loose ends before leaving Friday. I’ll be sending some
prayer requests soon before I go too. I can’t do it without your
prayers behind me, a huge ziplock of medications and the Lord’s
strength.

Thank you!
Lisa

1 Comment»

  Roger Carr wrote @

Hi Lisa,
I just discovered your new website and learned about the National Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week. I love the logo. My wife suffers from lupus and other invisible chronic illnesses. I have described our lives many times as a roller coaster ride. I will be helping you promote the event this year. Have fun at ICRS.
Roger


Leave a Reply

