The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

Well… cough!

I’m hitting those moments in my son’s life where, at 4-years-old, he is beginning to question everything. And how does one explain an invisible chronic illness to a child? I recently explained to him that he was going to go to Day Camp for the day because mommy had to go to the doctor.

It was my regularly scheduled rheumaologist visit, but I’d been flaring a great deal lately and my emotions were as raw as the tissues in my hands felt. I wasn’t up to trying to talk to the doctor with him in my lap driving monster trucks over my arms.

"I don’t want to go!" he said (even though he loves it once he gets there.)

"Mommy has to go to the doctor today. You need to go to Day Camp."

"Are you sick?"

"Well, sortof," I answer. "Mommy’s body is kind of sick inside."

He looked at me with skeptical eyes and said, "COUGH!"

Thankfully the humor of the moment made me smile, rather than cringe. He has always been a very healthy boy and has just recently begun to experience what a cold or ear ache feels like. And sickness=coughing. 

The ironic part is that, too often, the adults around us often give us the same demands.  "If you’re really that bad off, show me something to make me believe it." Even some of my loving relatives didn’t realize my illness was that bad until my hands started to show the deformities. It’s not even being rude. it’s just human nature. We believe what we can see.

Thankfully, in our world of faith in Christ, it doesn’t work this way. 2 Corinthians 4:18 tells us, "
So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal."

Our illness may be unseen, and even chronic, but it’s one thing that will not be eternal! Amen!

1 Comment»

  Pat Schaeffer wrote @

I find this interesting myself as I try to explain my health problems to my daughter who is a mother herself now. There are times I don’t have the strength to make it down to where she lives 2 hours away, one way.
She does know that there will be times I will need to take a nap because of my mental & physical need for rest before returning home. I get discouraged thinking of grandparenting with “FMS” because of the limitations but I need to creatively seek ways God can teach me to be flexible and just do the best I can.
Thank you so much for this ministry!!


Leave a Reply

