The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

.Home Alone but Not Lonely

tJetsI woke up to thunderstorms and a very stiff body. I’m on day 6 now of having a "bug" that my husband passed on to me, only his lasted just a few days. I’m now coughing, sore throat, wiped out, and can’t focus on much of anything.  I’m off my meds for rheumatoid arthritis since I am sick, so flaring, and the thunderstorms aren’t helping (it’s not an old wives tale that you can "feel a storm in your bones."

Today was also the Miramar Air Show. Back when the navy was still here and not the Marine Corp, it was TOP GUN. Famous for the movie and when I first moved here, I would blast my Kenny Logins music going down the freeway as the planes flew overhead and I’d feel like I had really MOVED somewhere MORE than cool.

I’m usually excited for these kinds of family events, but decided to opt out. My husband (Joel) took Josh and they had a great time. Josh got to check out airplanes, get in a hummer, oh… and there is a mini-carnival– all the fun a 3-year-old can have. He came home with a souvenier of a fighter plane.

I stayed home and rested, watched the Oregon Duck football game on TV (my alumni), and worked on Joshua’s scrapbook. I do love to scrapbook, but it’s been over a year since I pulled out the stickers and paper and tried to make sense of my mess. But I’ve been designing overlays for Adoption Baby Books (see http://www.amusementparts.com) and thought if I was selling them, I could at least sit down and DO one myself.

It looks adorable and my claim of "you can have a beautiful scrapbook of your child’s first days that is personal to his/her story in just hours" was actually true! It took me longer to locate the photos than do anything else. Since he’ll soon be 4 years old, I wanted to have his book done to be able to start "reading him his story" since he has an "open-adoption" and we see his birth family 2-3 times a year.

My sister called me from the football game and said, "I’m sorry you’re not here OR at the air show." And I said, "I’m not. I’m having fun and trying to rest." The dishes stacked up in the sink, I didn’t do any laundry and I stayed in my PJs until after 12 pm.

Someone recently asked me if I get bummed out when people do things that I’m not able to do. Usually I try to do the airshow. We park with the handicapped placard, take chairs and lots of fluids, and I take a good book (fan that I am). But I try to not ever let missing out on these things get to me. I do them 90% of the time.

Pity parties will likely come now and then, but today I decided that a day out for Joel and Josh alone would be a nice memory. And that to be able to get well sooner and give Josh my best I needed to take care of myself more than see the Blue Angels.

So I took the advice of Psalm 116:7 that says, "I said to myself, ‘Relax and rest. God has showered you with blessings. Soul, you’ve been rescued from death; Eye, you’ve been rescued from tears; And you, Foot, were kept from stumbling.’" (The Message).

Blessings,

Signature_5

1 Comment»

  Erin Burris wrote @

I struggle with this so much! I’m a college student. I have MHE. And I feel so left out most of the time. Everyone is out playing sports or running around the mall, or even walking to class. And I just can’t do that. I can walk short distances, but even when I try to do this with the other kids my age, I end up slowing them down because I can’t keep up. I’m the only student on my campus that walks with a cane everywhere she goes. The girls on my hall are really good at inviting me to do things with them, but depending on the activity, I usually have to decline because I don’t want to be a nuisance to them. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can feel more like my age? And do the things that kids my age do with the other kids my age?


Leave a Reply

