The Ministry of Lisa Copen

Lisa Copen, Founder of Rest Ministries which serves the chronically ill, shares about mothering, illness, ministry and more.

Prayer Request for Speaking Engagement

Friends,

I’d like to just ask for special prayer (or plain prayer- God hears them all) for me tonight. I will be speaking at our church’s HopeKeepers group and I think a good number of people from the community may come. Spiritually, I’m feeling drained and just “dry.”

Physically, I’ve getting worse each day. I’ve tried taken a newer drug the last 3 days to help me actually sleep, but have been crying over the littlest things and feeling just a mess. I’ve tried to get some childcare which didn’t work out; I tried to get together with a girlfriend for just some much-needed fellowship and she forgot.

And we’ve been discovering some challenges that my precious son has that will need some occupational therapy- a summer-enriched with doctor’s appointments and more insurance hassles, and disciplined therapy on my part – which is hard when I’m flaring and just trying to get through the day. It’s all been emotionally draining. I just wish for normalcy—whatever that is. I am sure you can relate.

I am going directly from a Wiggles concert to the church and hoping to feel the “refreshment of the Lord” despite everything. I feel very inadequate and humbled that anyone would want to come and hear me speak, much less take notes!

Please pray that I am given a few painless moments in order to drive to the concert and then back across town to the church. That there are people who can help me lift boxes and help with logistics. And most importantly, that despite everything God will be glorified. He always seems to break me down before I speak anywhere so that only HE can lift me up. I should have no doubts, I know. He’s done is before. But when the littlest thing makes me want to burst into tears (I feel like I’ve been watching Hallmark Hall of Fame movies for days or something) I worry that I won’t be an ENCOURAGEMENT! I so want everyone to leave feeling BETTER than when they came.

It’s truly possible, because IT IS about God and not about me. Please pray that regardless of ME, GOD will be lifted up.

Thank you in advance for the prayers I know I will feel!

Lisa Copen
Rest Ministries Director

4 Comments»

  Kim wrote @

I am praying for you today. I pray that God will use you tonight to help people understand chronic pain better.
I understand children with health issues and dealing with them while dealing with your own pain, too. Be very kind to yourself. May God bless you and your son.
Kim

  Jayne wrote @

Dear Lisa ~ such an honor to discover your prayer request in time to join in & support you! I will be praying!!! Please give us a report of how God upholds you. He uses the weak…His strength will be full in you tonight…I know it.
In His Love, Jayne

  Kirsten wrote @

Hi Lisa. I know that feeling well–coming to the end of yourself just in time for HIm to lift you up. I would have LOVED to come to hear you speak…and I would have written down every word of wisdom you shared. I hope it all went well. Who’s your favorite Wiggle? I’d have to say Anthony is mine. My son likes Jeff 🙂
Kirsten
Mom with RA and MS, trying to keep up with active four year old boy!!

  Sabine wrote @

(((Lisa))), how did it go at your HopeKeepers group? I was in the hospital at the time you wrote this post so I didn’t get to pray for that. But I will now pray for your other concerns. You are really having a tough go of it lately. I’m so sorry.
~Sabine


Leave a Reply

